Daily Prompt: Lonely

WordPress has The Daily Prompt which is a good way to distract yourself and get over writer’s block!

This prompt is a good first one for me to start with!

November 1, 2012

When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?

Two Christmases ago I was at home by myself for almost a week. My partner was in Nova Scotia visiting his family for the holiday and I couldn’t visit mine until Christmas Eve because of the cats. I had no one to talk to. All my friends were back at home, in another city or town and I just had my cats.

I remember when I was severely depressed that I felt lonely but I had never actually been alone. This felt worse. At the end of my time alone one of my sisters came and stayed the night so I wouldn’t feel so bad :P

This year I will only be alone for a 2 days before I go visit my family.

About prideinmadness

I'm 25 years old and live in Toronto, Ontario. I refuse to see myself as "sick" and instead focus on how my experience have led me to where I am. I do work and advocacy within mental health, have severe Mad Pride and know that psychiatry needs to change.

Posted on November 1, 2012, in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. The holidays are such a hard time. I’m sorry to hear about your awful experience. Here’s to better times ahead.

  2. Since my daughter moved out August 1, 2012 I have had several bouts with loneliness. I have posted some of these moments on my blog.

    http://powerofonenancy.wordpress.com/

    I have been on my own since I was 16 years of age. At that time being alone terrified me. When I had my daughter, she became my focus. I have never married and in fact just a few years ago began addressing some very deep intimacy issues.

    On the day that my daughter moved out at the age of 29, I came home from work and stood in her empty bedroom. Her energy was gone from my home and the fear from a lifetime ago rushed back. I turned and left and headed down to a local pub. I did that four nights in a row before really getting a handle on the thing. Now I am coping.

    My daughter and I are very close. It has been difficult for her as well. Why did she move, you ask? She’s 29. She has never lived on her own and she wants to build her own home.

    So I am working on what I call The Happiness Project. We are both trying to identify triggers to certain issues and then deal with them.

    • Thank you for sharing your experience with me :)

      I can only imagine that a child leaving home can be very hard! My parents have 1 child left at home and they tell me that it is strange to not have all 4 of us at home.

      It’s good that you’re able to work on yourself! Identifying triggers is so important to overall wellness! Good luck!

  3. I think being alone may bring about some real important issues to examine. Just because we live alone doesn’t mean we are lonely. If we feel lonely, it sometimes means that we are not in love with ourselves. In examining how much we love ourselves, we can find over 100 different ways to treat ourselves with love and occupy our hearts.

Let's Dialogue!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,330 other followers

