Daily Prompt: Revisionist History

Go back in time to an event you think could have played out differently for you. Let alternate history have its moment: tell us what could, would or should have happened?

There are so many events that I wish I could go back and change but I can acknowledge that probably without them happening then I probably wouldn’t be who I am today.

I guess one scenario I could have done differently (a scenario that I don’t mind talking about) is when I was first taken to the hospital for cutting. I should have been honest with the idiot doctors who were speaking with me.

“You know you shouldn’t do this right?” NO I DON’T!!!!

“Will you do this again?” YES I WILL!!!!

Maybe if I had told the truth it would have stopped. I would have saved myself years of scars, mockery and pain and learned how to cope better earlier on.

But, like I said before, the experience has given me something valuable.

About prideinmadness

I'm 25 years old and live in Toronto, Ontario. I refuse to see myself as "sick" and instead focus on how my experience have led me to where I am. I do work and advocacy within mental health, have severe Mad Pride and know that psychiatry needs to change.

Posted on November 14, 2012, in The Daily Post and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let's Dialogue!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,154 other followers

