A Sickening Sound

Since day 1 this has bothered me.

The sound of the little balls of chemicals freely moving around inside the Effexor capsule.

effexor

It makes me feel a little silly but every time I take them and hear that sound I want to put them back in the bottle and hide them forever.

For reasons that I do not think I can really explain, the sound makes me feel like I’m doing something wrong. Maybe it’s because I want this to be a quiet process; I don’t want anyone hear that I’m taking a pill…I don’t want to hear that I’m taking a pill.

The sound makes me uncomfortable. I try to move them as little as possible but sound is inevitable.

About prideinmadness

I'm 25 years old and live in Toronto, Ontario. I refuse to see myself as "sick" and instead focus on how my experience have led me to where I am. I do work and advocacy within mental health, have severe Mad Pride and know that psychiatry needs to change.

Posted on March 16, 2014, in Madness, Mental Health, Stigma/Discrimination, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Your intuition may be on to something…how are you feeling with the Effexor itself? When I had that it was a tablet, not gelcaps, I seem to recall, so there wasn’t a noise.

  2. I used to shake them like little maracas!

  3. My effexor (actually the generic, venlafaxine) is a tablet. Perhaps you could check with the doc or the pharmacist and see if a tablet is a possibility for you?

    A pill that rattled would bug me too.

  4. Depending on where I fill mine, I sometimes get a tablet, but most in my area seem to only be filling with capsules now, but last year I was on a tablet form, so I know they still exist.

    Maybe you can call around to different pharmacies and see if any have the tablet or can order it in for you.

Let's Dialogue!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,159 other followers

