Student Suspended for Taking Away a Razor Blade

“Last Thursday at Bayside Middle School, Adrionna Harris took a razor from the student [who was self harming], threw it away and convinced him what he was doing wasn’t right.

She thought she was doing the right thing, so Friday she told the school administration what happened. The way school officials responded led to a question of if the school’s zero tolerance policy went too far.

Instead of getting praise from the school administration, Adrionna got a 10 day suspension with recommendation for expulsion.” – Wavy.com

The logic being the suspension of this girl is truly not there. I don’t even see how I can make a post out of this because Adrionna was clearly doing the right thing and the school is clearly in the wrong. There is nothing to debate. Adrionna’s suspension was lifted and now her parents are fighting for this stupid suspension to not appear on her record.

I wish more people did what Adrionna did. I think she acted with confidence, bravery and compassion. I would hate for students to be afraid of stepping in when a friend/peer is self harming because they are worried about what the school would think. Self harm doesn’t need any help becoming more secretive and shamed.

About prideinmadness

I'm 25 years old and live in Toronto, Ontario. I refuse to see myself as "sick" and instead focus on how my experience have led me to where I am. I do work and advocacy within mental health, have severe Mad Pride and know that psychiatry needs to change.

Posted on March 23, 2014, in Madness, Mental Health, Stigma/Discrimination and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. That is awful that she was suspended, I hope they take it off her record! That seems to be sending an incredibly mixed and wrong message.

  2. I’m befuddled. What’s the basis for the suspension? That she held a razor blade for less than a minute while she carried it to the garbage? By that logic, I guess the boy should have been suspended too. Derp.

  3. My jaw literally dropped to my chest. This is the real insanity.

  4. I can’t believe they did that, that’s crazy. I’d hope that they got some help for the boy rather than punishing him for being clearly unwell but it sounds unlikely :(

  5. So student helps another student, and school responds with a suspension, what on earth are schools doing and thinking these days? I am glad she got the suspension lifted and hopefully it will be removed from her record entirely.

    Events like this just end up making people not want to help others.

  6. Completely agree. It’s shocking that a school could hand out a suspension for that!

  7. Interesting story. Wish someone was around to stop me in my youth, and i sure would stop someone i saw now.

  8. Well, at least the link has an update saying they reversed the suspension. It’s not unusual in the U.S. to read stories of students getting in trouble for pro-active behavior or creativity…They ‘re often more concerned about teaching passive obedience than they are about the well being of the students, or their growth…notice there’s still nothing said as to whether the student cutting is to receive help from anyone other than his peers.

Let's Dialogue!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,266 other followers

