Blog for Mental Health 2013

blogformentalhealth20131winnerWe are now kicking off Blog for Mental Health 2013! WOOT!!!!

Ruby Tuesday has pledged me (does that make sense?) and I accept! I’ll let her explain what this is all about!

“Now, to be absolutely clear, this isn’t an award.  I want to make that very plain, because I know that many bloggers feel that the blogging awards passed along, however well-intentioned, sometimes have a bit of a “chain mail” feel to them.  I would love to see even “award-free” bloggers taking up this gauntlet, because it is something else entirely.  It’s a simple, yet very powerful way for a community of mental health bloggers to show that they are proud of their lives, that they are writing for themselves as well as for those who have not yet found their voices, that they are ensuring no one ever has to feel alone when dealing with mental illness.

Here is how this thing works:

1.) Take the pledge by copying and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2013″.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you.

Ruby Tuesday

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

I was always a sensitive child. Maybe that put me at a higher risk for developing mental health issues but regardless it all really started going downhill when I was 12 when I first thoughts of suicide. I began actively self harming at age 13 and wasn’t diagnosed with chronic depression until I was 16 and put on meds. The meds didn’t agree with me and I attempted suicide 6 months later. After ending medication and finishing up with therapy I was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD at 18. I reentered therapy after a few years to get better control over what was happening with me. I was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Traits and take an antipsychotic for the times I feel stressed or need to shut my mind off to sleep.

I am proud of surviving what was so far the worst part of my life. I do everything I can to help others in the way I wished I had been helped. I do not think I am sick but that I am who I am, someone with a different brain that has been shaped by experiences.

4.) Pledge five others, and be sure to let them know!

I am pledging five of my fellow bloggers who have impressed me with their strength and amazing honesty in sharing their experiences of mental health issues.

Lola

My Life With Borderline Personality Disorder

The Quiet Borderline

The Life You Save May Be Your Own

QP

You can still take the pledge regardless of if you appear on my brief list 🙂

5.) And, as something novel for 2013, Lulu and I ask one more thing of you.

As you may have noticed, Canvas does not keep an official blogroll, outside of links to our authors’ personal blogs.  For something new and special to introduce Blog For Mental Health 2013, and really build a sense of community — and show everyone how many of us there are, and how strong we are, coming together — we are launching a Blog For Mental Health 2013 Official Blogroll!  So, in addition to linking back to the person who pledged you, please include the link to the original post in your piece.  As this gets passed along, link back or click here and leave a comment containing the link to your pledge, and we will put you on our Blog For Mental Health 2013 Official Blogroll page!  Show the world our strength, show them our solidarity, show them what we are made of.  Take the Blog for Mental Health pledge and proudly display the badge on your blog!

12 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2013

  1. Yay! I am so excited! You are the first person who isn’t me that I get to add to the blogroll, and I hadn’t even let you know yet (I still haven’t gotten around to that, that will be tomorrow’s activity). I’m so excited that you’re sharing this, and I will share your post tomorrow on our facebook page and Twitter feed. Right now it’s past bed time, but I was just so delighted, I couldn’t not leave a comment to say thank you so much!

  2. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2013 | Human In Recovery

  3. Pingback: I Pledge My Commitment To Be Mental In 2013 « Summer Solstice Musings

  4. Pingback: Give that man a prize! The award goes to… | In The Bed Inside Me.

  5. My daughter was 4 when things started up, and because of her age, nobody believed she might have any mental health issues. She was labeled as just an unruly child. She was also ultra sensitive to things, and self harmed even then. I wish more people would accept that perhaps it IS possible for younger people to start showing signs early on. Maybe then it could be addressed quicker, and perhaps prevent further development… or at least keep it from getting out of control.

    • I understand the hesitation on the part of doctors to diagnose mental illness in young children and I am thankful for that. What should be done is monitoring. Children are growing and changing but that doesn’t mean problems won’t arise, like you’ve said and experienced.

  6. I just took the pledge myself and I’m visiting my comrades who are blogging for mental health.

    I was diagnosed with Bipolar in 1995 and have had many ups and downs, but am now blessed to enjoy relative stability. Blogging really helps.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

Let's Dialogue!

