A Vaginal Interview

I started reading The Vagina Monologues by Even Ensler and I have been blown away and empowered by what she has written. vaginaSome of the monologues are questions that she asked women of all ages that she worked with about their vaginas. I decided to answer them.

I am nervous to share my answers because, as Ensler repeatedly points out, our current society shames vaginas which then shames women. I have shared with many of you my darkest moments of suicide and self harm and have not been scared to do so. I would consider those thoughts and actions just as intimate as talking about my vagina but yet there is more fear about sharing information about a physical part of me. It all comes down to how we have constructed the vagina as needing to be hidden, much like what we expect of women. We need to break this oppression, and just not women, but men need to help us. We can only make change together.

Share your answers to these questions if you would like đŸ™‚

If your vagina got dressed, what would it wear?

Plain white t-shirt (girl next door style)

If your vagina could talk, what would it say, in two words?

Calm down.

About menstruation…

I was one of the last of my friends to get my period. I was camping with my friend and her family when I first got it. I thought I had shit myself and I was really embarrassed. I eventually asked my friend what was going on with me and she said that it might be my period. When I got home from camping I told my Mom that I thought I got my period. She said, “I thought you would.” I wish she had told me so I could have been prepared!

What does a vagina smell like?

Each will be unique but from my experience: light, fresh and airy.

What does your vagina remind you of?

A smooth and warm sand dune.

What’s special about your vagina?

It’s happy the way it is!!

 

Vagina, it’s time to stop treating it like a dirty word!

 

8 thoughts on “A Vaginal Interview

  1. Um, I would answer this in my own blog, but I’m not sure… hoping it gets lost in the comments section of yours… but a slightly different take on things:
    If your vagina got dressed, what would it wear?
    barbed wire and razor blades… but for my wife, a lacy black thing to make up for the need for barbed wire and razor blades…

    If your vagina could talk, what would it say, in two words?
    yes! no!

    About menstruation…
    horrifically triggering most months… but I guess that’s a function of increased triggers present in this house (around being assaulted).

    What does a vagina smell like?
    delicious đŸ˜‰

    What does your vagina remind you of?
    since moving back home: being assaulted and violated

    What’s special about your vagina?
    it’s been through hell and back, but it’s still ticking.

  2. Pingback: taking risks: coming out about sexual assault and a Vagina interview… | both sides of the wall

  3. Pingback: The Gimpy Monologues: Help? | The Musings of a Digital Vagabond

Let's Dialogue!

