Books Have Helped Me

Books have influenced my life in many ways. Whether that be by providing me with comfort, new information or an adventure, reading had always been there for me.

The following was originally meant for Facebook but I wanted to share it with you here and I thought some of you may like it as well 🙂

RULES: In your status update, list 10 books/stories that have had an impact on your life. Don’t take too long on this list – just a few minutes. These don’t have to be acclaimed works or your all-time favourites, just ones that mean something to you personally. Then tag 5 or more of your friends, including me so I can see your list.

1. Prozac Nation by Elizabeth WurtzelReading!
2. Wonder Woman: Love and Murder by Jodi Picoult
3. In Search of April Raintree by Beatrice Culleton
4. The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson
5. Let Them Eat Prozac by David Healy
6. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
7. When She Woke by Hillary Jordan
8. The Cider House Rules by John Irving
9. The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory
10. The Virgin Suicide by Jeffrey Eugenides

4 thoughts on “Books Have Helped Me

  1. Pingback: Books have helped me | All that I am, all that I ever was...

  2. I’ve read half of the books you listed and gained deeper insights about my self and others from them, especially with respect to the darker side of life. In addition to those, I will share with you my list the highest impact books in order of when I read them because where I stand in life now may have something to do with these literary touchstones. Had I read them in a different order, I’m not sure what I would think or believe now.

    1. The Children’s Book of Virtues by William J. Bennett
    2. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnet
    3. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Baum, L. Frank
    4. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White
    5. Animal Farm by George Orwell (hated it but it made an impact)
    6. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
    7. Frankenstein by Mary Shelly (hated it but it made an impact)
    8. Dracula by Bram Stoker (facinated by it … later realized the selfishness behind that)
    9. Hamlet by William Shakespeare (this one & the 3 before drove my adolescent angst into my twenties & through your 6, 1, 8, 9, & 10 titles.
    10. Reviving Ophelia by Mary Pipher (wished my parents & teachers had read it)
    11. The Celestine Prophecy by Redfield (loved it so much at the time; but it’s misguided)
    12. Self-Reliance by Ralph Waldo Emerson
    13. White Noise by Don DeLillo (hated it but it made an impact)
    14. The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri
    15. The Art of Getting Your Own Sweet Way by Philip B. Crosby
    16. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey
    17. The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom byDon Miguel Ruiz
    18. The Odyssey by Homer (2nd time…through a teachers eyes rather than a student)
    19. Self Matters: Creating Your Life from the Inside Out by Phil McGraw (bad advice)
    20. The Bible books of: Ruth, Jonah, Job, Ephesians, Galations, Matthew, Mark, Luke, & Romans (It all makes sense now…joy comes when we die to self & serve others…redemption comes when we accept Christ’s gift of salvation)…these were 2nd reads too…I started life in a Jehovah’s Witness family, went through a seeking period of life where I practiced a number of alternative faiths & entertained the ideas of agnosticism & secular humanism. But those paths led me to nothing. I pray as your journey continues you find peace, hope, & joy. Thank you for sharing your titles. I plan to read the other 5 you listed that I haven’t read. I hope you’ll read any of my titles that you haven’t read too 🙂

Let's Dialogue!

