Robert Whitaker on Psychiatric Drugs (interview CBC Radio)

The work of Robert Whitaker has changed my life.

After his keynote speech at PsychOUT 2011 I learned that the chemical imbalance was a theory and my suicide experience on Prozac wasn’t my fault. I cried when I heard him speak.

Everything Matters: Beyond Meds

From the CBC Website:

prozac620For the past 25 years, people suffering from depression have been treated with drugs such as Zoloft, Prozac and Paxil … selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors (SSRI’s), otherwise known as anti-depressants. The theory goes that depression is caused by a chemical imbalance in the brain. And if you can correct that, you can snatch your life back from under the soul-crushing weight of depression.

In fact, there’s a pharmaceutical treatment for just about every form of mental illness from schizophrenia to ADHD and a raft of anxiety disorders. Hundreds of millions of prescriptions are written for anti-psychotic, antidepressant and anti-anxiety medications every year in the United States alone, producing billions of dollar in revenue for pharmaceutical companies.

But Robert Whitaker has argued for years that millions of the people who are prescribed those drugs derive no benefit from them. And in fact, the drugs may make their…

View original post 110 more words

2 thoughts on “Robert Whitaker on Psychiatric Drugs (interview CBC Radio)

  1. Thank you for posting this marvelous voice of wisdom. I wrote about this myself a few weeks ago on bit.ly//UnorthodoxUnhinged. “The Doctor’s Daughter and the Great Psycho-pharmacologist”. Peace, my sister. Joani

  2. Thanks for the book recommendation! When I was young, I loved speed and SSRI’s are essentially that. I hate that feeling now that I am a grandmother. I don’t have to keep going when exhausted.
    I was on Zoloft in the 80’s it was a great stimulant, but when i got off of it, the side effects were horrible! I vowed never to take them again, but stupidly tried again a couple years ago after multiple deaths in my life. What a mistake! It nearly cost me my life because no one saw how much worse I was getting. the doc seemed almost mad (eye rolling moment) at me for going off the drug. The only thing I use now is pot. it has helped me stabilize in many aspects. It is not perfect, but the best thing I’ve found so far. I have no more migraines, sleep all night, eating again, and the anxiety is far less!!! No weird side effect like the ssri’s.
    I hope you are feeling better too.
    thanks again, can’t wait to read this!
    D

Let's Dialogue!

