A Time To Talk- Poetry Activity

Today during camp we had a guest poet come in an do some activities with us. Here is one of them that I found really interesting.

Take a poem and double space it. In the new blank spaces write your own lines of the poem.

The original lines will be in black and my lines will be in pink.

 

A Time To Talk by Robert Frost

 When a friend calls to me from the road

“Hello! How are you?”

And slows his horse to a meaning walk,

Slow enough so I could catch up but I stay where I am.

I don’t stand still and look around

I don’t want to see you.

On all the hills I haven’t hoed,

 This is taking me forever.

And shout from where I am, What is it?

There isn’t enough time.

No, not as there is a time to talk.

 My patience grows thin,

I thrust my hoe in the mellow ground,

 Do I have a choice?

Blade-end up and five feet tall,

 Duty calls.

And plod: I go up to the stone wall

Resting my hands on the cool rock beneath my hands.

For a friendly visit.

(Optional to add your own line after the original last line)

 

Next, you take out the original lines and you’re left with your poem!

“Hello! How are you?”

Slow enough so I could catch up but I stay where I am.

I don’t want to see you.

This is taking me forever.

There isn’t enough time.

My patience grows thin,

Do I have a choice?

Duty calls.

Resting my hands on a cool rock beneath my hands.

There you go!

 

6 thoughts on “A Time To Talk- Poetry Activity

Let's Dialogue!

