30 Day Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Day 10

Day 10: What is the best thing in regards to your mental illness(es)?

The best thing in regards to my mental health issue would be my anger. Once I became angry (instead of depressed) I began to stand30 day challenge up for myself and express when I felt uncomfortable with something. While I do not always express it in the right way it has given me opportunities to learn better ways to communicate with others that many will probably never learn due to the believe that they are normal and I am not.

My anger also drove me to pursue mental health activism. The anger turned into passion and when I see or experience an injustice I want to fight it. My anger makes me want to do something which I didn’t experience when I was depressed. When I was on an antidepressant and was less angry I found that my desire to help others and fight discrimination was drastically reduced. Since ending the medication the anger has returned and I fell more up to the challenge again.

While anger does make my life difficult and at times unbearable, the positives have been very positive.

Previously: Day 9

8 thoughts on “30 Day Mental Illness Awareness Challenge- Day 10

  1. I feel the same way about my anger. I believe it literally saved my life–for a long time, all my anger was directed at myself via self-harm, eating disorders, and suicidal thoughts/attempts. Once I finally got angry at the people who’d traumatized me, I finally stopped needing to destroy myself. Like you, anger pushed me toward activism, which I love. It makes me feel like my life has meaning and makes me feel connected to the world.

    I think you’re making excellent use of your anger.

    • Thank you! We seem to have very similar stories in terms of rage. My self harm became less (all of my self destructive behaviours actually) when I began getting angry and like you said, directing the anger towards those of deserve it.

      Thank you for your comment!

  2. And we need young strong people such as yourself to keep up the fight! Good on you for doing it. Like some say, “the squeaky wheel gets the grease”. Keep up the good fight; much progress has been made in my life on earth; it’s nice to see that we are evolving, albeit slowly.
    As I get up in years and feel the pull of my life slowing down and no longer have that fight. Thank you for your work you are doing to help all of us!

  3. I have struggle with my passion and medication. but i realized that I can keep that passion and to be effective and organize. if you have a passion to change something and it’s your calling it, you will make it and make a difference.

  4. I fully agree with this!
    I still have problems with rage, but when it’s properly focused, I get some serious things done.
    And it feels like something’s missing when the fire in the belly’s gone. It’s like, “where’s my outrage, my motivation?”
    Us passionate types are great proponents of social justice.
    You’ve put it quite nicely. 😀

    • Thank you!

      You’re right about feeling like something is missing. I remember feeling like I had lost my purpose or that I really wasn’t myself when I wasn’t feeling rage the same way if at all.

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. Pingback: 30MIAC Day 10: Round Up/Results | Marci, Mental Health, & More

Let's Dialogue!

