Mentally Ill Does Not Equal Suicidal Slut

kslutwalk

Saturday July 12 was SlutWalk Toronto 2014. I proudly shared my experience of being labelled with a mental illness and being a young woman.

When I first entered high school I was known as the “suicidal cutter” and then when I began having sex I was called the “suicidal slut”. At no point was support offered to me by those who felt the need to call me names. Their sole intention was to shame me for self harming, being depressed and having sex. To some I was even considered “exotic” because they thought that having sex with me would be some unique experience because I was labelled as mentally ill.

I am glad to have a platform, like SlutWalk, to share this experience.

6 thoughts on “Mentally Ill Does Not Equal Suicidal Slut

      • Yes, you are right. Unfortunately I have also been bullied as an adult. I read a very interesting article on bullying which said that bullying as a teenager is because you are different from your peers and as an adult it is because you are popular and your boss is jealous of you. So I guess I was different as a teenager and then became popular as an adult. Either way the people who bully are so much less than those who are bullied. It takes a very insecure person to belittle others and shows that they are the ones to be pitied. You are strong and courageous to share your story. Always remember that dear. You are much better than they could ever hope to be.

  1. People can be so cruel and too ready to ridicule what they perceive as the weaker person. Your board and you look great…. I hope you can feel proud to have survived…

Let's Dialogue!

