30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge: Day 5

Day 5: What part of self harm do you dislike the most?

It's true. Cuts don't hurt but the words of others do

The scars. Especially the ones that won’t fade. I have Bio Oil and it helps them fade but I see every single scar no matter what. These scars have taken away parts of my life that should be enjoyable, like wearing shorts and going swimming. If I could get new skin I would in a heart beat.

That’s all I can say about scars.

 

5 thoughts on “30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge: Day 5

  1. I say, you are beautiful just the way you are, scars-n-all. If you wish to wear a swimsuit, then by golly wear it! Please do not limit your life; I don’t know why, but it makes life more painful. You are a courageous woman, we all are, anyone with mental health issues. Hold you head high! You deserve to!

  2. I know I have talked about this with you other ways in other places, and so I don’t want you to think I’m minimizing or contradicting — and I really don’t believe you would.

    But there’s a line I love from the Shakira song ‘Gypsy,’ and it says: “I can’t hide what I’ve done; Scars remind me of just how far that I’ve come.”

    I know it isn’t the same thing, but I have scarring on my face (that no one else apparently can see but me) from terrible acne one medication gave me. I have stretch marks far in excess of what any 34-year-old who has not borne children should have from weight gain and loss and gain and loss, again from medication. My tattoos have been damaged severely because of that as well. And that’s just the external stuff.

    Oh, wait, I forgot the extra wrinkles. 😉

    On a good day I can take them as my battle scars, as proof of just how far I have come. And though they may not seem the same to you because I didn’t technically inflict them with my own hands, in a lot of ways I can’t really explain, they feel that way to me.

    I’m not saying you shouldn’t want to get your scars treated by a dermatologist, or I think you talked a while ago about an organization that does tattoos over them. I’d like to get my tattoos touched up if I ever got the right artist and some money together. I guess it’s just meant for it to maybe be another perspective, if you can use it in the meantime. A very long-winded one, but you are strong and beautiful and surviving, Kristen, and in a way your scars are proof of that.

    • If I do anything about my scars it will be covering them with tattoos. I just need to save up money.

      I still would want to just accept that they are there but I can’t get over the mind hurdle yet.

      Thanks so much for your support (as always!) 🙂

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Self Harm Awareness: Day 6 | Pride in Madness

Let's Dialogue!

