30 Day Mental Illness Awareness Challenge: Day 15

Day 15: How has your life been effected by your illness(es)? (Some ideas are: relationships, career, school)

My body and my intimate relationships have been most effected by my mental health issues.30 day challenge

My self harm scars cause me to hide my body. I wore sweaters in the summer and still wear pants, leggings or tights. I am trying to become more comfortable with exposing more skin and have recently worn a bikini but being more covered up is also my style. I am slowly but surely becoming more comfortable with my scars.

I expose myself in my intimate relationships which can mean I let lose all my anger, sadness and “craziness” on the one I love. This has made it difficult to maintain relationships and has also put me in abusive relationships. The more I learn about self care and coping the easier relationships are becoming. Being with the right person is also a massive help.

Let's Dialogue!

