An Open Letter To The TTC – Please Remove These Posters

I snapped a picture of this ad when I saw it on the TTC with the intention of writing about it but then life caught up with me. Thanks for writing this post! A psych ward is scary but not for the reasons people think. You should be more afraid of the professionals than the patients…

The Belle Jar

Dear Toronto Transit Commission,

I am writing with regards to the following poster found in some of your subway cars advertising “Mystery Room,” which is apparently a sort of spooky role-playing game where you have to escape scary situations.

10569068_10154504388060215_7336785862527024230_n

As you can see, some of the frightening scenarios that you can participate in include “Satan’s Lair,” prison, something called The Mummy’s Curse and a psychiatric ward. All of them are problematic in one way or another, but one of them hits particularly close to home for me.

I am writing this because I am a person who has spent time on a psychiatric ward – in fact, I’ve been a patient at multiple mental hospitals. The first time was when I was sixteen – I saw a clinical psychologist to help figure out what medication would best manage my depression. The second time was when I was twenty one and suicidal –…

View original post 583 more words

Let's Dialogue!

