Robin Williams

I <3 Robin Williams... In sooo many ways he reminds me of my wonderful dad! He is my hero and so is Robin Williams :)

Robin Williams experienced depression and substance abuse. I was shocked when my sister text me last night telling me that he had died. Inside I knew it was self inflicted and my research confirmed it. While my grief over the loss of Robin will never ever compared to that of his family and friends, I am still upset that the world has lost another amazing person because of the torment they felt inside.

Whenever I hear someone has ended their life I am torn. I understand the battle it probably took to keep the horrible feelings at bay. I understand the hard work that it can take to pursue recovery. I understand the consuming determination that can take hold before finally attempting to take your life. I have been there, just in my case I survived.

As I said to a friend today, “People are people first. If anything the passing of celebrities from addiction and suicide serve to show us that it doesn’t matter what you have, what matters is what you feel what’s missing and if you can find it.”

I want to thank Robin for trying his hardest and giving of himself to us so we could take a break from our lives and laugh and be amazed by his talents. You will be missed Robin and I hope you have found what you have been looking for.

14 thoughts on “Robin Williams

  1. This is very deep __ “People are people first. If anything the passing of celebrities from addiction and suicide serve to show us that it doesn’t matter what you have, what matters is what you feel what’s missing and if you can find it.” Great mini post. Keep strong.

    • I usually despise celebrities who champion mental health because I feel they have the money to get the help I can never have but something about Robin Williams’ passing made me realize it’s not about what you have but what you’re missing.

      Thanks for your comment.

      • I am with you on that. I am still in utter shock that someone who made us all so happy by his brilliance and utter wit, took his own life. But even more shocking was that he was in that kind of mental state. I think for all human being guarding your life and health, to the core, is what’s most important than wanting to achieve the world. Your post was short but I felt the emotion.

  2. Thanks, pride, for posting this . . Robin made this tough old world a better place than when he came into it . . May God bless his wife & children, his other family members, & his friends during their time of sorrow & loss . . .

  3. I have dealt with chronic depression for many years and I find Robin Williams passing so sad. He was someone that was such a bright star, a great talent, but unfortunately that can also mean great darkness.

  4. Pingback: Depression | Spiritual Lives Of Women

  5. Pingback: Golf - the History

  6. Pingback: Suicide is Suicide | Pride in Madness

Let's Dialogue!

