30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge: Day 11

Day 11: Strangest place (school, park, etc) you’ve ever injured yourself?

Talk of self harm

Talk of self harm

I’ve bee dreading this question and I’ve had a drink so I think I can answer it now. I do not think I have ever self injured anywhere that I would consider strange but I have self harmed during times that were probably inappropriate.

It was grade 11, my party days. I was pretty drunk so I just have brief flashes of what happened. I locked myself in my friends bathroom and the next thing I know my wrist is bleeding. My friend is knocking on the door and I’m crying. Then I remember a guy I went to high school with had my wrist raised above my head and was applying pressure with toilet paper. That’s all I remember until the next day.

Oddly enough that guy went on to study self harm in university and beyond.

So, that was the worst moment for me. Not because I self harmed but because it was so public.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Self Harm Awareness Challenge: Day 11

  1. That boy who helped you should be giving you an award for helping him find his life’s passion! 😉 I’ve told what I did and that was the last public display of self loathing i ever did and to this day it is still hush hush. i don’t even talk to my T about it.

  2. I imagine, such a difficult memory, but quite amazing that your friend used it in such a positive way.

    I dunno why I thought of my own playground injuries….

    Apart from the time when I was climbing the high stairs to the chute in the swing park and Mandy sunk her teeth into my bottom, drawing blood (I was 5 yrs old, I hasten to add), another time I was lying underneath a heavy swing, swinging it backwards and forwards above my head. Someone shouted my name and, yes, I sat upright, only to be completely knocked out when the swing crashed down against my skull. I had a lump on my forehead the size of a tennis ball. If it happened today, I’d be in a neck brace and rushed to hospital. Back in the 60’s, we just got on with it!

    • Oddly enough, I never really got injured as a child. Majority have been self inflicted.

      It’s mind boggling to watch children sometimes and see the things they do to get themselves hurt. As adults we think a lot more before we act (most of us anyways) :P.

Let's Dialogue!

