The Highly Sensitive Person- Revisited

I wrote about a Highly Sensitive Person (HSP) some time ago but now I have the book from the library so I can learn more about it.Β 

As I wrote in a past post:

Elaine Aron is a researcher and author on the topic of highly sensitive persons and children. Sensitivity in her research is not just about emotions but perceptions as well. Around 15%-20% of the population is highly sensitive and biologists have learned that having this trait can be a survival mechanism: observing first then acting. HSP process things on a deeper level which allows them to be more aware but they can also be more easily overwhelmed. This personality trait has been misunderstood. HSP can be both introverts or extroverts and different cultures view this trait differently.”

The book, The Highly Sensitive Person: How to Thrive When the World Overwhelms You by Elaine Aron includes a test in the beginning to help you determine if you are a HSP. I have copied the test below for you to take as well!

Are You Highly Sensitive?

Answer True or False

  1. I seem to be aware of subtleties in my environment- F
  2. Other people’s moods affect me- T
  3. I tend to be very sensitive to pain-T
  4. I find myself needing to withdraw during busy days, into bed or into a darkened room or any place where I can have some privacy and relief from stimulation- F
  5. I am particularly sensitive to the effects of caffeine- T
  6. I am easily overwhelmed by things like bright lights, strong smells, coarse fabrics, or sirens close by- T
  7. I have a rich, complex inner life- T
  8. I am made uncomfortable by loud noises- F
  9. I am deeply moved by the arts or music- T
  10. I am conscientious- T
  11. I startle easily- F
  12. I get rattled when I have a lot to do in a short amount of time- T
  13. When people are uncomfortable in a physical environment I tend to know what needs to be done to make it more comfortable (like changing the lighting or the seating)- F
  14. I am annoyed when people try to get me to do too many things at once- T
  15. I try hard to avoid making mistakes or forgetting things- T
  16. I make it a point to avoid violent movies and TV shows- F
  17. I become unpleasantly aroused when a lot is going on around me- T
  18. Being very hungry creates a strong reaction in me, disrupting my concentration or mood- T
  19. Changes in my life shake me up- T
  20. I notice and enjoy delicate or fine scents, tastes, sounds, works of art- F
  21. I make it a high priority to arrange my life to avoid upsetting or overwhelming situations- T
  22. When I must compete or be observed while performing a task, I become so nervous or shaky that I do much worse than I would otherwise- F
  23. When I was a child, my parents or teachers seemed to see me as sensitive or shy- T

Score (total number of True answers): 15

12 or more True answers probably means you are a HSP but individuals may only have two true statements but they are extremely true! Therefore they could also see themselves as a HSP.

This book isn’t about diagnosing or giving yourself a label. It’s about understanding yourself and finding ways to be more comfortable in the world and not let things hold you back.

I’m excited to read this book!

 

16 thoughts on “The Highly Sensitive Person- Revisited

  1. My score is 18. I was actually a little disappointed with this book. I felt like most of the info I had already figured out on my own. Oddly enough, I related more to the Highly Sensitive Child book.

  2. I’m an HSP and the mother of a Highly Sensitive Child. Discovering Elaine Aron’s book changed our lives. Like you said, when you know what this is, it helps you better understand yourself and your child. For a long time we struggled with our son, which is why I now blog about our experiences with him, in the hope of reaching out to others who may feel alone.

    It’s always good to see that there at others spreading awareness!

  3. It would be interesting to read something of the connection, if any, of HSP and BPD. I’ll have to add that to my list of things to research sometime but would be interested whether you have read anything of it?

Let's Dialogue!

