Fidget Rings: A Great Distraction

This is most likely the one I would get.

A friend/colleague of mine sent me a website for Fidget Rings saying that it could be a good distraction from self harm. Upon looking into it more I believe these rings would be an excellent distraction tool!

From the Fidget Rings website:

Artist, Meg Dattoria

“Fidget” was developed by Washington D.C. artist, Meg Dattoria, as an exploration of her own tendency to fidget during monotonous or taxing tasks.  She designs the rings to mimic the natural way our hands move when we fidget.  These rings are a tool to focus those movements in a quiet, personal, and elegant way.

“Fidget” benefits both young and old, as well as those with ADHD, Aspergers, and Autism.

The website also has Dattoria’s thesis paper on the rings.

Once I’m working again I would like to buy one of these rings. There are times when my self harm urges manifest as fidgeting and I end up twitching to get the energy out. Being able to move parts of these rings would give me the movement I need at that moment without flailing my body around.

There is also a classroom kit for educators which includes 6 rings of different styles and colours. It’s a brilliant idea!

 

If you have a Fidget Ring or something similar let me know what you think!

One thought on “Fidget Rings: A Great Distraction

  1. I remember when I held my husbands hand, I’d spin his ring. Never knew I did it till he giggled one day and said how he enjoyed it. great idea, can’t wait to check this out! 🙂

Let's Dialogue!

