10 thoughts on “Stigma and Social Identity: What Does It Mean?

  1. First, I had to go back and read the fist post, and I think you did the translation justice!

    I find the concepts presented truly interesting, and now I’ll probably consider that book as a must read. I think there are so many facets to social identity and I think there are serious impacts, as a result. For example, I’m bisexual, but I don’t present myself in that way. There are a lot of reasons, but the biggest one has a lot to do with the stigmas that are typically attached to being bisexual. I hate the thought of what that could do to those I care about, to myself, and how people might receive me. Granted, I think there is some value in asserting yourself, but I also think that many of us just want to be able to work our way in society, and on some level that requires presenting ourselves in a “virtual” way. But then again, there is this idea of a “need-to-know” basis, and on some level that is how we all present ourselves in its purest form.

    I’m rambling here, but I think you are offering something truly intriguing in this post…

    • I agree with you and I present myself the same way. The public sees the best version of me that I can come up with because I need to be able to function within it to survive.

      Many stigmatized identities can have added issues within them. I know bisexuality doesn’t sit well with some in the LGBT community because some believe that bisexuals can pass as a straight. Two of my friends (male and female) are bisexual and in a relationship together. They appear as a straight couple but that doesn’t change their bisexual identity.

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. very well said both Disconnected and PIM (pride in madness). i really think that we are all born bisexual, but society makes us pick (a side) when young. almost a us against them from a young age. we all gravitate to what society says we are to be, but there is a point in our lives where we feel the need to pick between the two. i have always chosen male relationships, but i sure can appreciate a women when i see one! :p

    i do like your translations a great deal, they are really helpful, but i likely won’t pick up the book. not that i want an easy read, i just want to read something without having to open the dictionary three times per page.

  3. Wow this really resonated with me. I used to keep my bipolar 1 illness covered up, hiding it as best I could until I could finally not fight with it no more. Out it came and all heck broke loose. I was a nurse, a professional health care worker, but I couldn’t handle the tasks at my job or get along with my co workers. I am now on disability and fill my time with reading and blogging, hoping to start volunteering soon. I will be careful not to judge upon meeting someone based on your post. Thank you!

  4. I try to get beyond shame and stigmas. Its more the person’s problem who is close minded and accepts societies stigmas and sees people accordingly. I have always had pride in my honesty and feel no reason to hide who I am. When I discovered I was a lesbian I eventually became overjoyed. The Bipolar, I have felt the same acceptance. I live as someone who uses who I am to create stories. To show at least myself, all is alright. I will work with who I am if I have difficulties. Great presentation. Eye opening.

Let's Dialogue!

