5 Things to Say to Someone With BPD

 

 

I want to thank everyone who responded to my previous post and responded with what people SHOULD NOT say to someone who experience BPD and/or extreme emotions. I wanted to create this list because BPD is rarely spoken about positively in comparison to other mental health issues (ie: depression, anxiety). By positively I mean that individuals with BPD are all to often demonized for their experience in ways that other mental health issues are not. I have seen many lists of what to say to someone with depression or anxiety but none about what to say to someone with BPD. This is why I, and many of you, have created the following list.

5 Things to Say to Someone With BPD

 

I will not provide a lengthy explanation for each of these like I did for the “What Not to Say” because I would like to think I do not need to explain why nice things are nice to hear. Validation, love and support will help anyone and is especially important for someone with the BPD label because much about who we are is labelled as “disordered”.

8 thoughts on “5 Things to Say to Someone With BPD

  1. I love the words and graphic! Thanks for sharing this. I wholeheartedly agree that BPD is rarely spoken about “positively”, and perhaps that’s because many don’t understand what’s underneath the diagnosis. We need people to stand up for it in the way you are doing. Well done you!

Let's Dialogue!

