New Self Care for 2015

For the past year I have not added to my arsenal of self care techniques. Over the past 3 or 4 days I have thought about what I could add or change that could help me continue moving forward in my life and I came up with two things.

1. A Smash Book

A Smash Book is a cross between a scrapbook and a journal. I haven’t been able to complete a journal or effectively write in a journal since 2007, after I completed high school. This has bothered me a lot but it wasn’t until my Mother showed me her Smash Book that I seriously began thinking about doing one. Aside from being a fun way to record my life and what’s important to me, it will become a part of my past that I will want to show my children. My past journals are filled with horrible words and images that I would never want to share with my family but with a Smash Book my family can look back and see what articles I found important, quotes and songs I enjoyed, books I’ve read, my accomplishments and whatever else I want to put in it.

So far in my Smash Book I have a cover page that includes my picture and a quote (“Weird? Please, I’m limited edition.”), my first tarot card reading I gave myself with card my sister, A, gave my Christmas, the article “No one brings dinner when your daughter is an addict”, 2015 Reading Challenge, a page of meaningful songs and a page for things I’ve accomplished.

Here is a link to a board on Pinterest that has a bunch of Smash Book ideas! https://www.pinterest.com/hayleejdar/smash-book-ideas/

2. An Online DBT Class

I have been searching and searching and DBT in Toronto is just not accessible. I have been wanting to get into a DBT program for about 2 years with no luck (minus an awesome workbook). Finally, a sponsored post on Facebook popped up for DBT Path. The class is run by a peer who has used DBT to recover from BPD and also a social worker. It’s 9 months, with three modules (distress tolerance, emotion regulation and interpersonal effectiveness) and more. I spoke with my Mom and she’s going to help me pay for it (it’s a sliding pay scale). I’m very excited and hope that I register in time. I have been waiting for this and now is the time.

 

6 thoughts on “New Self Care for 2015

  1. I’ve been saving this post, so some day I can check it out. Sound interesting! I love to journal and feel there is a missing element to it. This could be part of the answer!

    I also want to, some day, take an oil painting class. I really think creativity brings happiness to some of us; when that element is missing, depression can get worse. It is not the product that is created, it is the love you feel, whilst creating it! That’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it.

    I was chatting with this delightful young lady about having a sense of accomplishment. I’d say this Smashing Book could be that sense of accomplishment

    Thanks for all your delightful posts.

    • Creativity (visual art, writing, music) is linked strongly with people who have experience mental health and addiction issues. It’s actually amazing to know that the most creative people in the world (past and present) have some sort of experience that we would be able to relate to 🙂

      Oil painting sounds like a lot of fun. I’ve always been jealous of people who could paint, draw or be visually creative in some way. Have you down oil painting before? Art really is about the process, I agree. As much as I love completing things, I love making things more.

      Thank you for your thoughts!

Let's Dialogue!

