The Little Things

Sometimes when I walk my pants fall down. Not all the way down but they’re not sitting where they should be. It’s annoying but I WILL NOT WEAR A BELT!

NO BELTS!

Why?

In 5th grade gym class we were playing a game of dodgeball (best game ever!). I was wearing a pair of beige shorts with a belt. I bent down to pick up a ball to throw to the other side of the gym and as I did this I felt the pressure around my waist build and then POP…my belt broke. I was so horrified. I think I thought others would think it meant I was “fat” and make fun of me. Reality is, I put my belt on to tight. Since that day I have never worn a belt with the purpose of holding up pants (all of my belts are those fashion high waist ones).

I find it interesting that something that could be seen as insignificant still has such a major impact on me. When people suggest I wear a belt I tell them no and think in my head, “I don’t want it to break.” I guess it wasn’t really a little thing if something that happened about 15 years old influences you still.

Are there any little incidents in your life that still play some sort of role in your life?

25 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. What a cute story! Unless of course you still feel traumatized but it, then it’s not so cute. When we are kids (although you are still a kid to me!), we get so self conscious and embarrassed by stuff like that don’t we?.
    Maybe, if you put on some weight they wouldn’t sag . . . unless you like a saggy butt! πŸ˜‰ Or get some smaller clothes? OR you could move to California in the US and live on a nude beach. Problem solved!

    I was trying to think of an embarrassing moment to write about, but there are just too many to count. School for me was horrid. I sure as heck hope we don’t get reincarnated, cause I would never go through school again! I’d be a real trouble maker!

    I hope someday you can find a really awesome belt that you just love and concur your fear of belts, cuz I think they are the most fun accessory! I wear one all the time.

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ : ) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • A nude beach sounds like the best idea! There is actually a show on tv that is about a Realtor who sells homes specifically to nudists! So these people are viewing homes totally naked and everyone in the community is just naked, doing their thing! Part of me is a little jealous πŸ˜›

      I want to be reincarnated as a cat. So that solves the high school problem πŸ˜›

      There was one belt that I wore in high school because it came with a pair of pants but I always wore it lose and only with that pair of pants. Belts also just provide an extra step for when you have to go to the bathroom! I don’t have time for that πŸ˜›

  2. When I was a young adult, I went from ZA to go and stay with family in London. Got there, aunt made coffee and said in a frightfully English intellectual voice, “you don’t take sugar do you?’, as if sugar was waaaaay beyond the pale. “No I don’t, ” I lied – and I never did again. And that’s 20something years ago. Lol.

  3. Hey PIm,

    Excellent post! You are so right that little things really can impact us.

    How about some really fashionable braces? Hm. Do you call them suspenders?
    Loved the post.
    Kind regards and God bless you.

    Kevin.

  4. I am awful when it comes to this sort of thing. I prefer pull-on pants so I don’t have to worry about remembering to zip the fly (elementary school trauma). You wouldn’t believe how excited I was when Lululemon showed up and leggings came back into style.

    • Ugh, I had a problem with the button. My teachers had to help me with the jean button until I was in gr. 3! (Pretty sure it was a left handed issue). Ha, I’m actually wearing a pull-on pair of pants right now πŸ˜› They sag a bit but easy to get on and off. I love leggings! They made wearing dresses more fun!

  5. It is amazing how incidents from out childhood stay with us when we reach adulthood. When I was in 3rd grade I was using the restroom when the fire alarm went off. The teacher had to come into the bathroom to tell me to finish my business and go outside with the class. To this day, more than 40 years later, I’m afraid to use public restrooms. Every time I do, that memory resurfaces.

    • K, give me your address and I will send some suspenders your way! hehe! We can have a matching pair!

      Oooh that fire alarm in the restroom would do that to me too! I cannot imagine the pain and fear!

      I have a thing about stores and exits. Panic in big stores! We had three house fires growing up and I am scared to death of getting trapped. Just the smell of a fire freaks me out. I can really tip overboard with that smell.

  6. Pingback: The ‘Little and Not So Little Things from Childhood’ Game. | Voices of Glass

      • restrooms (rr) were always my favorite hiding place! if i wanted to skip class, it was to the rr, no one ever found me. i’d lock the door of the stall and stay in there and doodle for an hour or more. most of the time i went down to the, “smokers hole” where all the, “bad kids” hung out. πŸ™‚ allz i can say is, I am sooo glad I am not in school anymore! I’d never want to go there again! it was horrible! It is not for introverts with pts symptoms or the MI. Our schools here are terribly violent. sounds like all of them are! so sad! so wrong!

        went to the library today and got three movies. the giver, fred won’t move out, and fire flies in the garden. I read the giver in 2002-ish. hope it’s not a disappointment.

      • I stopped hiding in the bathrooms when teachers started checking because they knew that’s where a bunch of us girls were self harming there. Awkward…

        I have never read The Giver but I have a copy of it. It’s on the list. Haven’t seen the movie either πŸ˜›

  7. Pingback: The Little and Not So Little Things From Childhood | Pride in Madness

Let's Dialogue!

