The Little and Not So Little Things From Childhood

Kevin, over at Voices of Glass, created a little Q&A game based off of my post, “The Little Things“. As with my post, this game gets you thinking about how little and not so little things from your childhood have stayed with you into adulthood. These questions are lighthearted, fun and of course, don’t answer any that make you feel uncomfortable.

Here are the questions!

  1. What is the first childhood memory that comes to mind?
  2. Did you have a imaginary friend or friends when you were a child?
  3. What was your favourite television program or show as a child?
  4. What is the first lie you can remember telling?
  5. What is the first good thing or kindness you can remember doing?
  6. What was your most favourite meal when you were a child?
  7. What was your least favourite meal when you were a child?
  8. First book you can remember reading?
  9. Favourite book as a child?
  10. Were you ever part of a gang as a child?
  11. Favourite toy/teddy bear from your childhood?
  12. What was your most favourite sweet or candy from your childhood.
  13. Tell us about the first school trip that you can remember going on.
  14. First record/track you remember listening to?
  15. First record/track you ever bought for yourself?
  16. Favourite comic read as a child?
  17. Favourite movie as a child?
  18. Favourite place to visit as a child?
  19. Favourite subject/class at school?
  20. Did you ever insist on being called by a different name or nick name?
  21. An adult neighbour you MOST get on with?
  22. Favourite smell from your childhood?
  23. What place or area did your parents say was ‘out of bounds’ but that you used to go to anyway?
  24. Did you ever shoplift (steal from the local store)?
  25. First dare you were ever given?
  26. Most embarrassing moment you remember?
  27. If you could show us one place from your childhood where would it be?
  28. Were you sporty, geeky, arty? How would you describe yourself in those contexts?
  29. Favourite article of clothing?
  30. One thing said about you as a child?
  31. Favourite game you played as a child?
  32. Favourite childhood pastime?

Additional Challenge:  Over the next week pick three of those answers and write posts about them sharing more about them and how you think they have impacted your life.

Here are my answers!

What is the first childhood memory that comes to mind?

  • Being told to stand still so I wouldn’t be stung by a bee but being stung anyways. My Mom tells me this never happened so I don’t know exactly what to make of that memory.

Did you have a imaginary friend or friends when you were a child?

  • I had friends. My Mom has provided at-home child care since I was very little so I always had a friend to play with. When I went to school (difficult transition) I made friends easily.

What was your favourite television program or show as a child?

  • If we’re talking when I was a little child, my favourite tv show was Sharon, Lois and Bram!

 

What is the first lie you can remember telling?

  • I have no clue but I’m sure it was so I wouldn’t get in trouble or so I could keep something I wanted.

What is the first good thing or kindness you can remember doing?

  • I don’t know but I was a good kid so I did a lot of nice things for others 😛

What was your most favourite meal when you were a child?

  • Chicken Parmesan or as we called it at home “Stinky Chicken” but the cheese smelled when it cooked! I still love it Stinky Chicken and now make it myself!

What was your least favourite meal when you were a child?

  • Roast beef….still don’t want to eat it…..and NO BANANAS!! That’s a food I wouldn’t even let my Mom eat when I was growing in her womb.

First book you can remember reading?

  • I don’t know about the first book (I’m sure it was something from school to teach you how to read) but the first book series I remember reading and loving was “Baby-sitters Little Sister”

Favourite book as a child?

  • Oh my…my Mom might know that one better then me. I just always remember reading. I know I loved Baby-sitters Little Sister and of course, Harry Potter!

Were you ever part of a gang as a child?

  • Do we mean a group of kids or an actual gang? I always seemed to have a consistent group of friends throughout my childhood and teen years. From grade 1-3 I had one group of girls, grade 4-5, I had two really close friends, grade 6-8 I had a group of 5 girls, grade 9-10 I was in a gang (or that’s what they called themselves) and grade 11-12 I had a group of us that hung out and drank together. One of these girls I have stayed with from grade 6 up until now and she is my best friend who I love very much 🙂

Favourite toy/teddy bear from your childhood?

  • I always think of Joey, my teddy bear. My Aunt Kathy gave him to me and he is even more special because she passed away in 1999. I still have Joey and he is actually with me right now!

What was your most favourite sweet or candy from your childhood.

  • Kinder Eggs. Do I really need to say more about them?

Tell us about the first school trip that you can remember going on.

  • I think I grade 2 we went to our local grocery store and learned about how it worked. We got free food too which is always a bonus!

First record/track you remember listening to?

  • I had Sharon, Lois and Bram tapes to listen to in the car 🙂

First record/track you ever bought for yourself?

  • BACKSTREET BOYS!!!!!

Favourite comic read as a child?

  • Archie!

Favourite movie as a child?

  • Probably Mathilda. My cousin broke the tape and I cried for a few days and slept with the tape in my bed until my parents bought a new one.

Favourite place to visit as a child?

  • Sandbanks Provincial Park. My family and I went camping there a lot! Huge, warm sand dunes at the beach and the campsites were great!

Favourite subject/class at school?

  • Whenever I got to write creatively I was having a good time in school 🙂

Did you ever insist on being called by a different name or nick name?

  • I tried to get a nickname but it never worked out. My Mom refused to let anyone call me Kris because she goes by Chris. Someone tried to get everyone to call me Moody when I was 13 but that only lasted for a week. Now that I’m older I get Kris or Kay sometimes.

An adult neighbour you MOST get on with?

  • I got along with most of my neighbours as a child. I guess my former neighbour J was someone I got along the most with. I looked after her and husbands dogs and as I got older we would talk about “real” stuff.

Favourite smell from your childhood?

  • Pickle juice? lol  No, probably campfire!

What place or area did your parents say was ‘out of bounds’ but that you used to go to anyway?

  • My parents never really set those boundaries but they did tell me that I couldn’t walk home by myself after dark but I would anyways.

Did you ever shoplift (steal from the local store)?

  • Yup

First dare you were ever given?

  • I don’t know but I do know that I rarely picked dare. I would rather tell a truth.

Most embarrassing moment you remember?

  • Only me and a random kid know this. I was standing in line with my Dad at McDonalds and I felt someone bump into me. I thought it was my sister so I put my hand behind me and pinch them. It was not my sister.

If you could show us one place from your childhood where would it be?

28326_415206416409_504191409_5264843_4728015_n

Me in the forest by my house around 2008

  • The forest by my house.

Were you sporty, geeky, arty? How would you describe yourself in those contexts?

  • A mix of everything to be honest. I was known for being creative though.

Favourite article of clothing?

  • Bandannas were pretty big for a bit. I had a bright blue one.

One thing said about you as a child?

  • “Kristen is quiet and needs to participate in class more.”

Favourite game you played as a child?

  • DODGE BALL!!

Favourite childhood pastime?

  • Reading. It still is 🙂
14 thoughts on “The Little and Not So Little Things From Childhood

  1. I saw this on Voices of Glass yesterday. It looks like fun, I’ll probably participate eventually. Your answers brought back good memories of my childhood, also in Toronto. I loved Sharon Lois and Bram, books about Karen, Archie and the BSB too. I also wore bandanas, never blue or red though…I lived in the west end of Toronto.

  2. Wow, you had such a fun sounding life! I am jealous, seriously speaking.

    Are you still quiet and need to participate in class more? 😉 It’s neat how we can move out of those quiet/bashful places if we have people who care and support us. Sounds like you had a pretty OK childhood in some ways.

    We had a really effed up, sad, violent, childhood. I’m having a hard time answer these. It is much too depressing and don’t think anyone wants to hear it.

    It will be fun to read others experiences.

    • Ha! I participated in class so much a group of girls started hating me and called me “snob”. They weren’t participating and I knew answers so why should I be quiet? 😛

      My fairly good childhood is what has made some people who have a BPD diagnosis or other mental health issue discredit my experience. My issues were with my friends and intimate relationships.

      You deserved a happy, non-violent childhood. I’m here to listen if you want!

      • classmates that abuse and hurt other’s, is as bad as any other abuse, imo. bullying is so scary/traumatic! you are just a child,at school, exposed; anyone can pounce on you in a heartbeat, and no one will stop it for a long time! years!

        kids die from bullying from suicide and hate crimes (as you know). school should feel safe, but it has only gotten worse. they brought knives to school when I was young; that’s kids play nowadays. what a frightful time for kids to be growing up; my heart feels like it is being crushed with the thought of past experiences
        .
        trauma is trauma; even if the threat was not real, but felt real at the time. that is traumatic.

        i read somewhere that the vets coming back from the military, many have PTSD and never saw any enemy. you can see how BPD can form, the stress was obviously there. imagine looking around every corner, half expecting to see a rifle in your face, or expecting a bomb to go off any second.

        Trauma can come from the fear that you THINK you will be severely hurt or killed. No one has to touch you to be abused/traumatized.

        i hate how past hurts, clog of so much of our lives.

        Cyber hugz to all who need it.

  3. Wow. This is amazing! And thank you for sharing! Would you mind if I answered these questions on my own blog? I could link you, if you like? It’s just a small blog; not many followers, but this goes along with some ideas that I had for future posts. You can e-mail me at borderlinemamalifestyle@gmail.com, if you’d like. Again, thanks for posting this & sharing some of your life!

  4. Pingback: Childhood Questions | Marci, Mental Health, & More

  5. May as well share the answers for me.

    What is the first childhood memory that comes to mind?
    Unfortunately it’s not a good one and I don’t want it in the public domain.

    Did you have a imaginary friend or friends when you were a child?
    Not really friends. but I made up imaginary worlds to escape to since reality was apparently not grand…lol… I still have a bit of an imaginary life in my head where I have a more successful and happy life.

    What was your favourite television program or show as a child?

    I honestly cannot recall, probably a cartoon of some sort.

    What is the first lie you can remember telling?

    No memory, could not even try.

    What is the first good thing or kindness you can remember doing?

    What was your most favourite meal when you were a child?

    Not really a meal, but corn. I was (still am) an incredibly picky eater so my meals were more 1 item I would eat and not technically a real meal.

    What was your least favourite meal when you were a child?

    Fish, yuck yuck yuck.

    First book you can remember reading?

    Favourite book as a child?

    Were you ever part of a gang as a child?

    No.
    Favourite toy/teddy bear from your childhood?

    I had a teddy bear that wound up and played music of some sort, I had it until I was 5 or 6 when it vanished, I remember being devastated at the time.

    What was your most favourite sweet or candy from your childhood.

    Lemon Heads and is still my favorite, just hard to find in Canada.

    Tell us about the first school trip that you can remember going on.

    To a museum, not sure which one.
    First record/track you remember listening to?

    First record/track you ever bought for yourself?

    A weird al tape (lol tape, remember those?) but I was a teen, had not bought anything before then.
    Favourite comic read as a child?

    Archie , my great aunt had a bunch of really old ones, I’d read them all the time when we went over to her house.

    Favourite movie as a child?

    No memory of any particular movie.

    Favourite place to visit as a child?

    San Diego Zoo. I love it there.

    Favourite subject/class at school?

    Natural Science and Photogrpahy.

    Did you ever insist on being called by a different name or nick name?

    No.
    An adult neighbour you MOST get on with?

    Old man across the street, cannot remember his name though.

    Favourite smell from your childhood?

    Ocean

    What place or area did your parents say was ‘out of bounds’ but that you used to go to anyway?

    Roof of the school.

    Did you ever shoplift (steal from the local store)?

    No, I would have been too scared.

    First dare you were ever given?

    No memory.

    Most embarrassing moment you remember?

    If you could show us one place from your childhood where would it be?

    Were you sporty, geeky, arty? How would you describe yourself in those contexts?

    Nerdy in a bad, awkward kids don’t like you and want nothing to do with you kind of way.

    Favourite article of clothing?

    I don’t recall having favorite clothing, I’ve never been into clothing, I buy basic jeans and t-shirts.
    One thing said about you as a child?

    He is slow, and doesn’t participate with classmates.
    Favourite game you played as a child?

    Monopoly.
    Favourite childhood pastime?

    I have memory issues from childhood, partly from being seriously ill as an infant with a brain infection and partly probably blocking bad things out or something, I have big parts of my life, I cannot recall memories for.

Let's Dialogue!

