Blog for Mental Health 2015!

Yes! It’s back! Another year of Blog for Mental Health! If you would like to join please go to Blog for Mental Health to bfmh15-4-copyfind out how!

Now, I begin!

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2015 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”

This is my 4th year participating in Blog for Mental Health and it’s something I do proudly.

My entire blog is dedicated to mental health, Madness, discrimination and pride in emotional differences so it’s hard for me to think of what to share that might be new or exciting because I have shared it all. I guess I would like to share a new program I am helping develop with Young Ones.

The Mentorship Program offers Toronto youth ages 13-24 with 1:1 support from a peer (ages 18-29) who have similar shared experiences. It is our hope that through building this relationships Mentors will provide a positive role model to Mentees in their recovery. Mentees also will have the opportunity to support Mentors as everyone has something to offer.

I am excited about this new program because it is really taking mental health out of the traditional therapy, even support group, setting and making it more natural. I know some of my greatest support and positive progress has come because a friend has been there to support me. This is what I want to give to these youth.

We currently have 6 volunteers attending the first Mentor training session and 4 youth interested in receiving Mentors.

I hope for the best 🙂

P.S. If you live in Toronto and would like to be a Mentor (volunteer, have lived experience, between the ages 18-29) or a Mentee (ages 13-24, want support from a peer, ready to make progress in your recovery) please email:

Volunteers (Mentor): volunteers@youngones.ca

Youth (Mentee): help@youngones.ca

P.P.S. If you are a Toronto youth between the ages of 13-24 and are looking for help with mental health and/or addiction issues please email help@youngones.ca and we can connect you someone on our Treatment Team! No waitlists!

 

8 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2015!

  1. So fyi, I made a mistake in the launch post and the pledge had 2014 instead of 2015 in it! That’s what I get for copying and pasting at three a.m. Fortunately a couple of readers pointed it out to me, but not before it got passed along to you and a few others, too!

    I’m sorry, Kristen! You might want to edit that when you get a chance. Really delighted to have you on board (and really sorry for the screw up on my part).

  2. Pingback: Pride in Madness – 2015 | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Let's Dialogue!

