Gone.

Trigger Warning: A mother shares her recent experience of the death of her young child.

Lynn, the author of the post I am reblogging, is a friend of mine and also the partner of my long time friend, Vincenzo. On March 1, 2015 their 2 year old son, Bennett, died. I wanted to write a post about but my words are inadequate and it’s her words that are most important. Attending the service for Bennett was extremely difficult (especially when I hadn’t spoken to either of them in two years and I unfortunately never met Bennett) and it is my hope that the family can heal and always remember Bennett with a smile. I appreciate Lynn giving me permission to share her post.

August

We found Bennett pale, cold and gone on the morning of March 1, 2015. We are not sure how, why, or what was the cause. With all of his medical issues it could have been any number of things; his first seizure, he just stopped breathing (as he has been known to do), or SIDS…we don’t know yet. Due to his age they must take him to Toronto and perform an autopsy so hopefully some unknowns will be known. Forensics and investigators were also in our home, which is routine for children under 5. As the coroner was leaving he told my step-dad that Bennett looks like he died peacefully, and an EMS worker told me it didn’t look like he struggled, that it may have been SIDS. And that’s all I have to hold onto right now. He didn’t suffer. He didn’t struggle. I didn’t hear him like I…

View original post 580 more words

3 thoughts on “Gone.

  1. it hurts everyone when a child dies. the journey the family goes on is one of the hardest. there really is nothing to help console the grief that surrounds this sort of loss. no matter how often someone says it is not your fault, those thoughts, will always been in the back of our mind, could we have, somehow prevented it from happening?
    Not likely.
    😦

    • I agree. I can only imagine what it’s going to be like for them the next little bit. I know I’m going to try and be more of a friend and be there for a laugh, a cry or entertain the little one. You always want to do more but it’s one of those situations where time needs to pass and people need to heal in their own time.

  2. Pingback: Playing Catch Up | Pride in Madness

Let's Dialogue!

