Colouring As Self Care

Over the past 2 weeks I have been colouring. I love colouring but never looked at it as an activity I could turn to in moments of stress. Colouring was brought up in one of my DBT classes as something that can help calm the mind and I found it to be very effective. Colouring is very calming and a great distraction! I have found myself colouring for hours at a time feeling very content. I do need to buy more pencil crayons as my current selection is limited. I strongly suggest you try colouring πŸ™‚ My Pinterest has an “Adult Colouring Pages” board that could give you a few pages to start πŸ™‚

Here are some examples of my colouring! (Only colouring, I did not draw any of these)

Colouring1 Colouring2 Colouring3 Colouring4

 

15 thoughts on “Colouring As Self Care

  1. i actually got started on coloring in patterns on paper when i first was in the hospital. you can print so many different designs and patterns. you can use markers too, or colored pencils. or you can freestyle based on how you are that day. like talking about a problem, but instead just drawing and coloring about it. i like the ones you showed.

    • I am finding I’m drawn more to the pages that have designs and patterns! They take longer because in one section you can have so many different colours. I like the ones that can take me an hour to complete. I wouldn’t mind freestyling with pastels at one point. I’ve always liked smudging them. I like the idea of drawing and colouring instead of talking. I’m finding, as time goes on, I don’t feel like talking much so I guess the colours and pictures can talk for me. πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting!

  2. Yes! I’ve recently started colouring too. It’s a bit of a craze in the UK because of a new weekly colouring magazine with free pens and pencils called Art Therapy. Yours are way cooler though πŸ™‚

  3. Have you heard of Zentangle – it seems very similar to what you’ve been doing. I started doing it in meetings at work whenever I feel anxious and it really helps.

  4. I’d forgotten how therapeutic coloring can be. I did it last summer at the suggestion of a five year old. My (now ex) partner’s daughter walked up to me and said “you look sad, you should color with me” she gave me one of her unused My Little Pony coloring books and told me to keep it. I did find that coloring did help relieve a lot of stress. I miss that little girl so much.

    Thank you for reminding me of this very easy form of sleep care, I need to go out and look for supplies when I get paid this week.

  5. WOW~~ yer gooood! they are all beautiful! i’ve been trying zentangle, but i am not an artist like you. all my stuff looks like a 5 yr old did it. that’s ok . . . but, i’d rather look at your stuff! thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Let's Dialogue!

