DBT Skills: Valued Living Questionnaire 2012 and 2015 Comparison

Valued Living Questionnaire

 

I first filled it out in 2012 and then again in 2015 for my DBT homework!

Even though Family and Romantic Relationships has remained the same I approach them differently. My family is extremely important in a new way because my family is changing which is resulting in us coming together more to support each other. My romantic relationship has changed from a value based in desperation to one based on mutual respect. I value my current relationship because we are stable and supportive of each other and not because I feel like I need to do everything I can to hang on to it (as I felt with my ex in 2012).

Parenting holds higher value for me in 2015 as my boyfriend and I discuss starting a family soon. I am evaluating all the factors that I can currently foresee that will affect me as a parent. In 2012, I was not thinking about this at all!!

Self-care is more important to me now because I see the value in it and I understand it more. I see now that self-care is a vital part of managing my emotions whereas in 2012 I felt stupid for needing to use self-care because I was told I “shouldn’t have to” by my ex.

Overall, being in a healthier relationship and having a good job has influenced a lot of my values. Things that weren’t possible are now possible and it’s very exciting!

5 thoughts on “DBT Skills: Valued Living Questionnaire 2012 and 2015 Comparison

Let's Dialogue!

