Motherhood and Madness

Motherhood&Madness

B and I are trying to get pregnant. When we first decided we wanted to try I thought about how trying to become pregnant, being pregnant and having a child would affect my mental health issue. What emotional journey will I go on? Who can I turn to? What will people think? From the research I have done in the past I am aware that resources for parents with mental health issues are scarce, but yet research on the negative impact parent mental health issues have on children is fairly abundant. This is why I wanted to create the Motherhood & Madness section of my blog.

It is my hope that through Motherhood and Madness I can share my experience of trying and being pregnant and finally, being a parent while having a mental health issue. I will share research the supports parents who have mental health issues and most importantly, I feel, connect with other soon-to-be parents and current parents who have lived experience.

 

Let's Dialogue!

