DBT Skills: My DBT House (Part 1)

While doing looking up dialectical behaviour therapy on Pinterest for my new DBT board, I came across an exercise I hadn’t heard of before. It’s called, “My DBT House“. Doing this activity allowed me to answer some important questions, organize the good things and people in my life and identify what I want and what I’m aiming for.

Here’s how you do it!

  • Take a blank piece of paper and draw the outline of a 4-level house (leave room for a foundation), a door, a chimney and a billboard.
  • Β Parts of the house:
    • Foundation- Write the values that govern your life.
    • Walls- Write anything or anyone that supports you.
    • Roof- Write the name of the things or people that protect you.
    • Door- Write the things that you keep hidden from others.
    • Chimney-Write down ways that you blow off steam.
    • Billboard- Write down things you are proud of and want others to see.
  • Levels of the house:
    • Level 1- List behaviours you are trying to get control of or areas in your life you want to change.
    • Level 2- List or draw emotions you want to experience more often, more fully, or in a more healthy way.
    • Level 3- List all the things you are happy about or want to feel happy about.
    • Level 4- List or draw what a “Life Worth Living” would look like for you.

Here is my DBT house (colouring is optional but calming and fun)!

my dbt house

Another resource for My DBT House has some processing questions that I will answer in another blog post!

Have any of you done My DBT House before? Even if you remove the DBT part I do believe the symbol of the house and the questions asked are helpful for anyone to identify their values, the good in their life and what they want to work on.

16 thoughts on “DBT Skills: My DBT House (Part 1)

  1. I’ve never done My DBT House before but good job! It looks beautiful! And I’m sure it was very helpful and therapeutic working on it and colouring it. An excellent resource! I look forward to reading more about it.

  2. Pingback: DBT Skills: My DBT House (Part 2) | Pride in Madness

  3. I just got this handout in group this week, the instruction from the leader was a little unclear but this clears things up; i’m actually pretty excited to work on this! Thank you for posting!

Let's Dialogue!

