Vision Board 2016

My therapist, D, suggested I create a Vision Board. She makes them herself and I do enjoy creative self-help activities so I thought I’d give it a try. My Vision Board is based on my 10 goals for 2016. When I have some more money and an idea I want to create a physical Vision Board that I can hang somewhere in my apartment and, for now my virtual one will do just fine 🙂

I would like to present, Kristen’s Vision Board for 2016!

 

Vision Board

Relationship

Finding calm when B goes out in my relationship is probably my top goal for 2016. I have written frequently about the stress I experience when B goes out and I have seen more and more how this stress not only affects our relationship but also other parts of my life like my job and friendships. I will try and find this calm by using my DBT skills and asking B to work on areas in his life such as commitment. I know will have found this calm when B can go out (and I can go out) without feeling like I am being ripped apart from stress and feeling a desperate need for him or myself to come home quickly. The thoughts of being unworthy and unloved will disappear and be replaced with thoughts of worthiness and love.

Reading

In 2016, I would like to read 50 books. This is completely possible if I also include comics which totally count as books! My track record for reading is good. In 2012 I read 26 books in 3 months, 2013 I read 70, 2014 I read 56, 2015 I read 40 books and I’m almost done my first book of 2016! Reading is a passion of mine and reading a lot is what helps me stay sane! I have learned so much from books and I can’t wait to find out what I learn in 2016!

Physical

I am going to do yoga in my home using YouTube 3 times a week! I got a yoga mat for Christmas and I have a good YouTube channel to use that has a variety of different yoga videos. I would like to increase my flexibility, specifically, and will be using a yoga to do that. I want to use yoga weekly in 2016 because I know it helps my body and mind feel good.

Friendship

I will go out with a friend at least once a week. This also includes having a friend over. This goal will help my friendships and also my relationship with B. I used to go out a lot and fear has greatly held me back. I do have 3 friends in the city that I would see on a fairly regular basis, including one that I am seeing tonight! I will also put my family and my bestie in this category because my fear has stopped my from going to see them given they are 45 minutes away in another town. I need to see them as going back home and seeing them recharges me :). Job and what not permitted, I will aim to go back to see them once a month (like I used to).

Family

Those who have been reading my “Motherhood & Madness” posts will know that B and I are trying to become pregnant. While this goal is less in my control than the other ones it is still a goal nonetheless. We have been trying since July 2015 so hopefully, 2016 is our year!

Education

I spent a lot of 2015 leaving online classes and I want that to change this year. I will complete 1 online course this year so I can keep learning and adding to my resume. In the past, I have done online courses on AIDS, leadership, addiction and abortion. All have been extremely helpful in life. I wonder what I will learn this year?!

DBT Dear Man

DEAR MAN is the one DBT skill I am not really good at (this also includes GIVE and FAST). My goal for 2016 is to use DEAR MAN at least twice a week as situation arise. I do have my proof that DEAR MAN is an effective interpersonal skill I just still have my fears and need to get over them. I will know I am effective at using DEAR MAN because I will be using it, it will work or I will use it and be able to cope with an undesirable outcome.

Cat Fostering

Fostering cats has changed my life. I have been fostering for a month now and it has already resulted in 1 resident cat and a foster I really wish I could keep! My goal for 2016 is to foster a minimum of 2 more cats with 2-3 week breaks in between each foster. I really enjoy having the cats around and it feels great to know that the cats are happy in your home while they wait to be adopted. Fostering is one of the best decisions I have made and I can’t wait to see what 2016 will bring for this part of my life.

Career

I need to go to work! My goal is to go to work unless I am actually physically or emotionally fairly unwell. Because of my fears and insecurities, I have missed a lot of work. I give into the sadness and lay in bed when I really should get out there. I am going to push myself harder as going to work will help me accomplish others goals on my vision board as well.

Blogging

I want to blog at least once a week. I usually do this anyway and I want to make sure that I am writing quality blog posts. This blog is important to me, all of my readers are important to me and I always want there to be forward momentum on my blog.

Did you or would you create a Vision Board for 2016? Did you make any New Years Resolutions? I would love to hear what your goals are for 2016!

8 thoughts on “Vision Board 2016

  1. Pingback: Vision Board 2016: Update | Pride in Madness

Let's Dialogue!

