Women, Anger and Mental Health

Intersectionality is one of the most important things I learned about in my social work education. Intersectionality is a concept that says that oppressions are interconnected, they intersect, and cannot be viewed separately. For example, a trans woman of colour. This person needs to be seen as a whole and that each oppression (and even each privilege) create their entire experience. To focus on them as just a trans woman and believing that they experience oppression solely because they are a trans woman ignores the added BS this woman experiences because they are also a person of colour. Trans women of colour have very different experiences than white trans women since white/light skin is seen as a privilege.

I wanted to share the above tweet because it speaks to me and my intersectionality as a woman with a mental health diagnosis. Women are frequently shamed for showing “masculine” emotions such as anger. Anger has been a huge part of my life. It has provided me with power that I didn’t have as a teenager when my emotions were turned inward and I never expressed myself. I have experienced men (mostly white men) that become very insulted when I became angry with them, expressed that I disagree with them or firmly told them what I did and did not want. My confidence goes from “sexy” to “bitchy”.

This is not to say that angry women have mental health issues because that is not true. I do believe it is true that sexism, the belief that women should be one way and men another, probably contributes to many angry women believing they have a problem and being labeled with a mental health diagnosis (by a professional and/or by society). There is still a movement though to build women’s confidence in themselves, to be more body positive, see themselves as capable and equal and yet when women display this confidence in anything other than a quiet, submissive smile people become outraged.

My solution has been continuing to be who I am no matter what and finding people who respect who I am. All of me. It was a process to get to this point and I can see how each year I become closer to being completely ok with all the parts of me.

P.S. I know I have been absent for awhile. I can tell you all why in a few weeks!

3 thoughts on “Women, Anger and Mental Health

  1. I think anger is an important emotion. It’s important to be able to express it freely, my therapist always says feelings are just feelings they come and they go, I’m glad you’re able to express your anger and feel in powered in doing that. XX

    • Anger is so important! I remember my life when I didn’t feel anger the way I do now and I was not well at all.

      Feelings do come and go. it’s an important thing to know so we don’t get stuck in how we feel!

Let's Dialogue!

